Remarks by the Chairman


The Sun Yefang Economic Science Foundation is in its 30th year. Over the last three decades, thanks to kind support and interest from across society, the foundation has come a long way and grown in tandem with China’s reform and opening up. It has witnessed huge economic and social progress and the emancipation of both minds and theories.

 

The recently concluded third plenum of the 18th CPC Central Committee fired the starting pistol on a new round of comprehensive and deepening reforms that mark the next stage of China’s economic progress. The experience of the last 35 years has shown that reform and opening up is a critical process in determining the future fate and prosperity of the Chinese nation. There is no finishing line for the reform and opening up process, as there is no ending to economic development or the emancipation of minds and academic research.


The name Sun Yefang has traditionally been associated with the emancipation of minds and the reform of economic systems. Thirty years ago, soon after Mr. Sun passed away, the state leaders of the time highly praised the admirable yet uneasy life of Mr. Sun and gave full recognition to his commitment to academic research and his contribution to the theories of economics. On the initiative of some state leaders and renowned economists, the Sun Yefang Economic Science Award Foundation Committee was founded. Many founding members contributed money out of their meager savings and salaries in order to get it off the ground. The name of the foundation was changed to the Sun Yefang Economic Science Foundation in 1995.

 

Sun Yefang is the most preeminent economist of contemporary China. His stature comes not only from his multi-faceted role as the leading thinker, mentor and chief commander in economic circles for a generation, but more importantly from the perseverance and tenacity he displayed in his personal character during those tough years. As society progresses, perhaps Sun’s legacy is seen not so much in his writing or opinions, but in his relentless academic pursuit and his audacity of thought, for which he remains a timeless role model and a benchmark not only for the Chinese economic circles of today but also for the whole of academia. The younger generation may not know much about Mr. Sun’s life or works, but his name, like those of other economists from a previous-generation, such as Chen Hansheng, Xue Muqiao and Yu Guangyuan, will continue to resonate strongly within Chinese economic circles.

 

Visionaries of a previous-generation such as Xue Muqiao and Sun Yefang put forward their economic theories and reform proposals during a time of tremendous political pressure. They cared little about personal gain or honor. They made arduous and enduring efforts to develop economic theories tailored to Chinese reality. Many of the theories and arguments of these economists of a previous generation, such as Xue and Sun, were critical, self-reflective, pioneering and forward-looking despite their political and economic contexts. They wrote a glorious chapter in the history of China’s economic thinking.

 

The mission of the foundation is to pass down and carry forward the spirit of these economists of the last generation, Sun being a prime example, to respect the law of economics and to guard the truth. In the new era, the foundation’s mission has evolved to focus on the economic and social transformations in China, to encourage innovation in economic theories, promote the flourishing of economic science, give awards to exceptional young economists for their commitment to academic excellence, reward and incentivize organizations and individuals who contribute to economic science, and sponsor economics students in need.

 

Since its inception in 1984, the foundation has been organizing the Sun Yefang Economic Science Award on a biennial basis. Fifteen awards have been handed out so far. Forty-nine works and 168 papers have been selected. The winning works contain the latest findings on economic science in China and embody the highest academic caliber for economic research in various disciplines. At the same time, the Sun Yefang Economic Science Award has identified one crop of economic elites after another. Many recipients of the award have become academic champions and are already serving in important leadership positions of the country.

 

The selection process for the Sun Yefang Economic Science Award has been transparent and fair. Entry can come by application of the author or nomination by experts, on which basis a preliminary review panel consisting of economics professors assigned by leading universities in China will conduct an independent review to screen the shortlisted works and papers. Then the award committee of the foundation will organize an open debate and anonymous voting by its members. The winners are determined through a simple majority subject to a final approval by the board of trustees of the foundation. The uncompromising integrity of the selection process and principles has given the award strong credibility and a reputation as the highest distinction one can receive in China in the economic sphere.

 

Starting with the 14th award, we have gone beyond the established practice of selecting only works published in credible Chinese publications and started to pay attention to great works and papers on the Chinese economy published in well-known international publications, including those written in foreign languages and by foreign authors. This has greatly enlarged the scope of selection and increased the international influence of the foundation. This helps encourage and urge young scholars to comply with international academic norms, participate actively in international academic debate and make Chinese voices heard in international academia. This also helps to push Chinese economic studies out to the world and improve the academic rigor of the Chinese economic community as a whole.

 

On the occasion of its 30th anniversary, the foundation has decided to create another award category for financial innovation to encourage economis to explore and develop theories in the financial domain.

 

We deeply understand the foundation must keep abreast of the times. We need to identify underlying trends, promote economic system reform more proactively, encourage greater openness and enterprising research, attract fresh talent across China to maintain academic excellence and strong innovation, and to continue to expand the influence of the foundation in society, especially among young economists.

 

To realize these goals, relying only on the foundation’s own manpower and resources would be far from enough. We need the support and partnership of different elements of society. The Sun Yefang Foundation is a non-profit public welfare organization. For a long time, the foundation’s staff has done its part selflessly and silently as volunteers. We look forward to having more like- minded people to join us and contribute their own efforts to the prosperity of China’s economic science. 


 

                        

LI Jiange

December 2013




Home | Foundation | Awards | Cooperation | Sun Yefang | Writings | Activities | Contact Us
Any individual, organization or institute which reads or uses the information in any ways from this website should read our announcements of copyright and disclaimer in advance and should accept them unconditionally.
Copyright © 2018 Sun Yefang Fiscal Science Foundation
Visitors:

当前位置:首页 > 理事长致辞
理事长致辞


1983年建立的孙冶方经济科学基金会,今年迎来了第30个年头。30年来,在社会各界的热情关怀和鼎力支持下,基金会伴随着中国改革开放的大潮一路走来,见证了经济社会的巨大进步和思想理论的极大解放。

刚刚闭幕的党的十八届三中全会再次吹响了新时代全面深化改革的进军号角。35年的历程表明,改革开放是决定当代中国兴衰存亡的关键之举。改革开放永无止境,经济发展永无止境,解放思想和学术研究也永无止境。

孙冶方的名字一直是与思想解放和经济体制改革紧紧联系在一起的。30年前,孙冶方逝世不久,当时的国家领导人高度评价了孙冶方令人钦佩的坎坷人生,充分肯定了他的治学精神和理论贡献。由一些国家领导人和著名经济学家倡议,发起成立了孙冶方经济科学奖励基金委员会。他们捐出自己多年微薄的积蓄和刚刚补发的工资,作为基金会的启动资金。孙冶方经济科学奖励基金委员会在1995年更名为孙冶方经济科学基金会。

孙冶方是当代中国最杰出的经济学大师。这不仅因为他在一个时代里始终处于经济学界的泰斗、导师和主帅的地位,更重要的是在磨难多蹇的岁月中,他所表现出的一以贯之的执着精神和宁折不弯的人格力量。随着社会的变迁,孙冶方能够传世的也许并不是他的某些著作和个别观点,但他的学术精神和理论勇气,仍然是中国经济学界乃至整个学术界永恒的学习楷模和追求境界。如今年轻人了解孙冶方生平和论著的已经不多,但这个名字代表着如陈翰笙、薛暮桥、于光远等一批老一辈经济学家,永远是矗立在中国经济学界的一座丰碑。

薛暮桥、孙冶方等思想前卫的老一代经济学家在他们当时所处的时代提出自己的经济思想和改革主张,往往要面对巨大政治压力。他们为探索符合中国国情的经济学理论不计个人荣辱得失,进行了长期艰苦的努力,付出了个人政治和生命上的沉重代价。薛暮桥、孙冶方等老一代经济学家的许多理论观点在当时的政治社会背景下具有批判性、反思性、开创性和前瞻性,从而在中国经济思想发展史上写下了光辉的一页。

孙冶方基金会的宗旨是,传承和弘扬以孙冶方为代表的老一代经济学家敬畏规律、守护真理的精神,在新的历史时期,关注中国经济社会的变革,促进经济理论的创新,推动经济科学的繁荣,奖掖献身学术研究的优秀中青年经济学家,表彰和鼓励对经济科学作出贡献的集体和个人,资助有需要的经济学科学生。

孙冶方经济科学基金会自1984年起开始评选“孙冶方经济科学奖”,每两年举办一届,到今年为止共15届。历届评选出著作49部,论文168篇。获奖作品基本上反映了当时我国经济科学发展前沿的最新成果,代表了经济学各主要学科研究领域同类文献的最高水平。同时,孙冶方经济科学奖推出了一批又一批经济学界的精英,很多获奖者成为学术带头人,有的已在国家的重要岗位上担任领导职务。

孙冶方经济科学奖的评奖过程一直是开放、公正的。在作者申报和专家推荐的基础上,由全国著名综合性大学经济院系随机委派的教授组成的初评小组进行独立评审,筛选出入围的著作和论文。然后由基金会评奖委员会以公开讨论,无记名投票的方式,以简单多数选定获奖作品。票决结果要经基金会理事会最终批准。正是由于一直以来严守评奖的程序和原则,孙冶方经济科学奖在社会上获得了高度好评,赢得了崇高的声誉,成为中国经济学界的最高奖项。

从第十四届开始,我们突破了在国内权威出版物上遴选作品的惯例,开始关注在国际权威出版物上以中国经济为论述对象的优秀著作和论文,当然包括外文的和外籍人士写成的。这大大扩展了遴选的范围,扩大了基金会的国际影响。这样做有利于提倡和鼓励年轻学者更加注重遵守国际学术规范,积极参与国际学术讨论,有利于在国际学术界发出中国的声音,也有利于中国经济学走向世界,从而整体提升中国经济学界的学术水平。

在孙冶方经济科学基金会成立30周年之际,基金会决定在孙冶方经济科学奖中,再单独设立一项金融创新奖,鼓励经济学家在金融领域进行精心耕耘和大胆探索。

我们深知,基金会必须与时俱进。我们要更加准确地把握时代的脉动,更加积极地推动经济体制改革;要更加开放进取,在全国范围里广泛吸收新鲜力量加入,以保持在学术上的前沿地位和创新能力,继续扩大基金会在社会上特别是年轻经济学家中的影响。

    要实现上述目标,仅靠基金会有限的人力和财力是远远不够的,需要社会各界同仁来共襄大业。孙冶方基金会是一个非营利的公益性组织。长期以来,基金会的工作人员以志愿者的无私精神为基金会做出了默默的奉献。期待更多的有识之士能和我们一起,为繁荣中国的经济科学贡献自己的一份力量!



首页 | 基金会简介 | 评奖活动 | 合作交流 | 孙冶方先生风范 | 著作库 | 公益活动 | 联系我们
任何阅读本网站资讯或以任何方式使用本网站资讯的人、机构、组织均应事先阅读本网站的版权声明与免责声明,并视为无条件接受本网站的版权声明与免责声明。
Copyright © 2017 孙冶方经济科学基金会
本站浏览量:
360网站安全检测平台